Sussex Sports and Recreation Interest Group / Cricket in Sussex

Cricket in Sussex

Cricket in Sussex has a long tradition, while the Sussex County Cricket Club that is currently playing in the first class cricket is the oldest of all 18 major county clubs in England and Wales. Founded in 1839, the club played its first County match in 1872 but its fans waited more than a century for it to win the first County Championship (in 2003). Another County Championship title was won in 2006 and then another one in 2007. In 2008 and 2009, the Sussex County CC also won the Pro40 League and beat Somerset in the final match of the 2009 Twenty20.

Other cricket clubs in Sussex are playing in the Sussex Cricket League, a top level recreational cricket with the Premier Division being recognised as EBC Premier League. Some of the most successful Sussex cricket clubs include:

Preston Nomads CC. A founding member of the Sussex Cricket League won the first Championship title in the very same year (1971). It went on winning six more Championships, three 20:20 Cups and the one Sussex Cup.

Horsham CC. One of the world’s oldest cricket clubs won the Sussex League champion title eight times and the Cyril Snell Trophy eleven times. In 2005, they also won the Cockspur Cup. The Club’s ground at the Cricketfield Road that overlooks Denne Hill is one of official Sussex outgrounds and annually hosts the matches for the Sussex County CC.

Hastings and St Leonards Priority CC. Based at Horntye, the Hastings and St Leonards Priority CC is the second most successful Premier League team, winning four Premier League Championships.

Cuckfield CC. The leading cricket club in mid-Sussex played its first match in 1891 but hasn’t won any major titles to date. But in 1997, both the 1st and 2nd XI’s won their Sussex Invitation Leagues and in 2001, the club was promoted to the Sussex Cricket League. In the same year, the 2nd XI won the County League’s Division 2.

Brighton and Hove CC. Also known as The Mighty Bensons, the Brighton and Hove CC is competing in the Sussex Premier League since the 2013 season, while the 2nd XI is playing in the 1st XI Division 2. The greatest success of the Club to date was achieved in 1979 when The Mighty Bensons won both the 1st and 2nd XI’s.

Worthing CC. Founded in 1855, the Worthing CC is also one of the founding members of the Sussex League. Although joined by several high profile players including Paul Jarvis and Imran Khan, the club’s only major success was achieved in 1992 when they won the Sussex League Cup.